•  For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, the candidate must be a citizen of India.

For other services, the candidate must be one of the following:

  •  A citizen of India
  •  A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan
  •  A person of Indian origin who has migrated from PakistanMyanmarSri LankaKenyaUgandaTanzaniaZambiaMalawiZaireEthiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India


  •  A degree from a Central, State or a Deemed university
  •  A degree received through correspondence or distance education
  •  A degree from an open university
  •  A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above
  • The following candidates are also eligible, but must submit proof of their eligibility from a competent authority at their institute/university at the time of the main examination, failing which they will not be allowed to attend the exam.
  •  Candidates who have appeared in an examination, the passing of which would render them educationally qualified enough to satisfy one of the above points
  •  Candidates who have passed the final exam of the MBBS degree but have not yet completed an internship.
  •  Candidates who have passed the final exam of ICAI, ICSI and ICWAI.
  •  A degree from a private university.


  • The candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years (for the General category candidate) on August 1 of the year of examination. Prescribed age limits vary with respect to caste reservations.
  •  For Other Backward Castes (OBC) the upper age limit is 35
  •  For Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST), the limit is 37 years.
  •  The upper age limit is relaxed for certain candidates who are backward with respect to other factors and physically handicapped (PH) people